[Advice Requested] Accidental Warranty

LiquidNitrogen

Hey All,

I bought a used Alienware M17X R2 in august of this year (2011) and I was told during the purchase that its warranty had run out. I called Dell/Alienware today as I had some free time and apparently its still in warranty AND I have the option of upgrading the warranty. This was a godsend because I live a very mobile lifestyle and have been in a couple "close call" situations with my Alienware already. However, as I have had some bad experiences with PC manufacturers and their warranties *coughHPcough* I am a bit hesitant about getting a warranty. Thus, I figured I'd consult you T|I'ers before I pulled the trigger on a new warranty. So, if you'd be so kind, a few questions/concerns:

- Have you had any experience with the Accidental Warranty? If so, how'd your experience go? What happened?

- If my system were to be dropped, etc, would repair be covered with little hassle?

- If my system were wrecked to an extent where I needed a replacement, what system do y'all think I'll get? Another R2? An R3? An M18X?

- How difficult is it to deal with Dell about warranties and services and such?

Thanks for your time!! :) :) And happy holidays/new year!

- Liquid

• Founder

It will be quite expensive to upgrade your warranty compared to getting one when purchuasing the laptop but in your case it is worth it.

In case of a replacement you most likely will get an M18x since you have a dual GPU.

I had my R1 replaced with the R2 but not because of an accidental damage so someone else's input that had such a case (ie drop) would be more helpful.

• Founder
Hey All,