minimalist shoes

sgogeta4

I have a diverse set of interests and lately what's been on my mind is athletic shoes, specifically minimalist shoes. I'm curious to see what kind of shoes people wear for casual or general athletic use and how you are finding your shoes. If anyone has any questions regarding barefoot or minimalist activities, I would be glad to share what I've learned over the past few years. As a side note, I also have very random interests in sock "technology", finding the perfect daypack (commuting backpack), general medicine, and technology - and love discussing any of these topics lol.

As for myself, I'm an overpronator with terrible flat feet. I've tried several orthotics and stability shoes over the years without much luck in finding a comfortable shoe that I could wear all day. But then a few years back, Vibrams released an interesting (and what many people consider ugly) pair of shoes called Five Fingers. Naturally, as a soon-to-be doctor, I started investigating the topic. The science sounded plausible - we evolved to walk barefoot, so why not try it out. I read all the horror stories of injuries and found many interesting studies. I found a lot of information, especially from a Harvard study by an evolutionary biologist. If anyone is interested:

Running Barefoot: Home