Lenovo y500 Missing 16GB SSD after full wipe.

ZEROleafSK8ER

Hi guys I recently wiped my entire HDD as well as the partitions in there. I re-installed windows 8 and installed the drivers. After the long initial boot time I noticed that the laptop was running sluggish. I restarted and instead of going from Lenovo-> windows sign in screen. It boots up Lenovo-> Windows logo-> windows sign in screen. I went into my computer and the 16GB SSD used for caching was not present. I opened up Disk management and the only drive visible was my 1TB HDD. Can you guys help me out please! I'm really not sure what I did wrong if anything. I'm new here as you can tell by my post counter but I am not a total noob with Pc's. I also tried searching in the forums and couldn't find anything. Thank You very much in advanced!

You switched to legacy to install Windows 8? If Yes, then you ditched UEFI that's why you have longer boot time, this is the reason it goes from Lenovo -> Windows logo - windows sign in. You should install Windows 8 in UEFI mod, create bootable USB image with Rufus tool. Check on the forum the posts are there for this. Regarding the 16GB SSD I am sure is there in your disk management you just have to create a partition for it.

• Thumbs Up 1

Thank you very much Florin for your advice and your time. You were 100% correct I did install it in legacy mode. I followed your advice and also found this thread ( http://forum.techinferno.com/lenovo-ibm/4306-lenovo-ideapad-y480-2-5-ssd-uefi.html ) in which you you provided some more info. I re-installed windows 8 in UEFI and my laptop is snappy again! Thank you again your time and willing to help me out with this. I was considering sending it in for repair :-/ the 16GB SSD is still not present in the file browser under my computer as well as when I look in disk management. I'm not sure what I have to do to enable it. Perhaps it is damaged and the PC isn't recognizing it.