Planning to order my first gameing laptop and I need advise!!!

Clylor

Okay so I'm new to the gameing computers and I'm not the brightest when it comes to the graphics cards and etc. I asked around and I was sent here so I really hope you guys can help.

So my question is how does the laptop come and what parts should I upgrade for it to run games smoothly? And whe I order it am I given options for what parts I'd prefer? I just don't want to blow the money on it then have to spend even more on parts that need improveing. lolz.

• Founder

Welcome to the forum @Clylor

For me the hardest decision would be the screen, 1600x900 vs 1366x768 and then it would be the GPU. The rest like CPU,RAM,HDD,OS, etc... are easy to upgrade and you can do it later down the road and probably a lot cheaper.

Just give us a few more details, like what kind of games you plan to play and at what resolution you are comfortable with, so the M14x experters of our forum will help decide what to buy

• Thumbs Up 1

Uhh, Arma, Oblivion, Fallout 3/NV, Shogun 2, and Left For Dead. Nothing to graphiclly demanding besides Shogun 2. As for the resolution I have no idea, my current laptop barely runs anything. But like I said I'm willing to put extra money into this thing to make it run as smoothly as possible as long as it's no more than 300-400 dollar upgrades. But your gunna have to dumb down some of your tech talk for me. lol I'm pretty new to this.

Guest bifnewman

Well, start off by giving us a budget. I think I would be able to pick out a balanced config if we can get a price range.

A good config for the M14x is to upgrade the CPU to the 2630QM, the ram to 6gb 1600mhz, and the screen to 1600x900 from the base configuration for $1374.00.

IMO, regardless of who you are and what you do, you NEED the 1600x900 screen for doing everyday tasks. Seriously, fitting multiple windows on the screen will be a pain in the ass with 1366x768, so do yourself a favor get the 900p screen at ALL costs.