Review: E-Win Champion Series Gaming Chair Read more... ×
EwinRacing Flash Series Gaming Chairs
Sign in to follow this  
carlomajno

Alienware M17xR3 6990 to 880. Is this possible?

i am an unhappy owner of an Alienware m17x r3 with ati 6990m. My question is..is possible to upgrade my laptop with a gtx 880m? upgrademonkey staff say yes, but i am not sure. They told me that for more info should go here...so what do u think guys?

Hello i,ve been reading your threads and the most important thing i understood is that i am a noob and my knolewdge is poor and low. So could you help me a little bit with that?? I have some questions about that. 

I've not bought the card yet becouse i need more information but probably i will buy to upgrademonkey but i am not sure if i need a heatsink, fan, new thermal and x bracket aswell. If i had to buy those i would do that in eurocom. They have gtx 780 heatsink that i think should work in gtx880. 

Plz i am so confuse any help would be really appreciate.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

• Similar Content

• By TheChamp
      Hello Techies!

New to the forums and I own a Alienware M17X R3 that has never had anything done to it and finally after 9 years the HDD crapped out, i purchased a Samsung SSD that I will be receiving next thursday so just getting a low down on what the proper procedure is. I currently have Bios A03 which will not give me SATA III speeds either from what I have read and will need A08? Will the Dell Bios update work for me or should i be trying to go with A12 unlocked? Can i do the update off windows as soon as do a fresh install on the new SSD? Or do I have to make a bootable usb? Sorry im not dumb with computers but not as smart as I want to be haha Thanks in advance for every ones help!