Replacing standard 60hz lcd monitor with a 120Hz 3D on p370sm

sl44n3sh

I would like to know if anyone has made ​​this change, or at least knows if it is possible.

The P370SM equipped with a LCD 17.3 "(CMO1720) WUXGA 1920x1080 @ 60Hz LED 40-pin connector with bottom left.

(I thought it could be replaced with lcd P370SM3 but the connector on P370SM3 is a 50 pin, not 40)

By browsing on the net, I found this monitor (LTN173HT02-T02) is a 120Hz 3D 17.3 "WUXGA 1920x1080 60Hz LED with 40-pin connector bottom left

So the type of connector is the same....

Do you think it works?:01:

I checked the repair manual, but I haven't found a solution....I am not very experienced in that... :55_003:

According to the service manuals, the P370SM3 uses the LG LP173WF2-TPB1, which is an 50-pin eDP panel.

The P370SM uses any of these: AUO B173HW01 V4, AUO B173HW01 V5, AUO B173HW02 V1, CHIMEI N173HGE-L11, CHIMEI N173HGE-L21, LG LP173WF1-TLB3, which are all 2-channel 40-pin LVDS panels.

You will obviously need the new eDP cable from your reseller (ask for "Wire cable (EDP) for LG 3D panel to M/B(HL/JAE CON:FI-VHP50) P370EM3 part number 6-43-P37E1-020-J")

All the information you should need for getting eDP working is on page 78 of the service manual. If you don't understand it, it would be easier for you to replace both the panel + cable and mainboard to upgrade to 120hz.

Some boards have both connector, you will have to physically check if the eDP port is present, too.

excuse my ignorance, but I found the screen (LTN173HT02-T02) is a 3d 120Hz and has the 40-pin connector as mine. looks perfect...

So ... can I just replace only the panel if the 40-pin connectors are the same?:59:

...just unplug the connector and plug it into the new panel, are both 40-pin... or not?

Sorry imanewbye:52_002:

I asked Mythlogic about this a while ago and the response was if the mobo doesn't have en eDP connector then it's a no-go, regardless of whether the LVDS connector matches or not.