How to do a proper format?

tiger_1829

Hey TechInferno Community,

I'm new to formatting a machine and it just so happens that the first machine that I really want to clean up my system is the Y580 with its 16GB mSata + 1 TB 5400 RPM combo. I'm not really well versed in learning how to install Windows at all but what I really want to do is simply reinstall Windows 10 back onto my computer with absolutely nothing on it besides the bare minimum. I bought this laptop when it came with Windows 8 and I have gone and made the upgrade to Windows 10 not through a clean installation. When I checked my partitions, I saw a lot more than I last remembered... 

I sifted through many articles and basically understand a bit when it came to reinstalling Windows in general but I'm not too sure with the Y580 setup. I hope someone out there can help fix this weird partitioning and giving steps on how to reformat! Thanks a lot :)

OK 
so the 16gb mSATA is your Cache drive.

The 1tb 5400 RPM drive is your main storage and OS drive.

The partitions you are seeing are due to windows 10 upgrade services.

It allows you to revert back to win8 if you do not like what win10 has to offer.

Believe they are backups/images of your older system.

Just pop in the win10 media via usb or dvd and boot from taht and just format the drives and good to go.

• Thumbs Up 1

I wanted to find an article that matched my situation but it seemed like most people who wanted to reinstall Windows on their Y580 also popped in a separate SSD. In this one forum, they stated that they used RapidDrive to take the HDD + SSD apart so that reinstalling Windows would work. I'm not sure if it applies to me and if I would just use the same tool to fuse them together.

http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/lenovo-y580-clean-install-guide.690046/