Question About Upgrading The M14X

Zion

Hi, Im New To The Forum And To Start Off My Question Is What Parts Are Upgradable Through Alienware? Im Curious To Know Because I Had The Laptop About A Week And I Think I Should've Gone Higher With The Specs. Here They Are.

My Specs:

*i5 Intel Core Processor 2410m 2.3ghz {2.9ghz}

*4GB Of DDR3

*1.5GB Nvidia GT 555m

*500GB 7200 RPM HDD

*Screen Resolution: 1366X768

What I Really Want To Upgrade Is The Intel Core From A i5 To An i7 Of 2.0ghz, The RAM To 4GB To 8GB, The Nvidia Video Card To A 3.0GB Instead Of 1.5 And The Screen To A 1600X900. So Im Just Asking Anybody Here First Before Calling Dell To See If It's Possible To Upgrade To These Specs? That Way I Dont Have To Buy A Whole New Laptop From Them, If So What Would The Price Range Be? Also This Is My First Time Upgrading A PC So Yea. Thanks!

The CPU, RAM, Hard Drive, and screen are all user replaceable (screen just being a bit harder). The GPU is soldered onto the motherboard so replacing it isnt really an option. Upgrading to 3gb is definitely not worth it for afterwards (considering itd probably cost 300$ and alot of time and effort).

Dell would do those things for you, but the parts would cost 2x the price or so. But if youve only had it a week Dell has a 21 day return policy. Id recommend just upgrading the CPU and RAM yourself, and possibly the screen. If not, returning it would be cheaper.

Hi and welcome to T|I!

The RAM and harddisk is very easy to upgrade and there's no need to get it done by Dell. The CPU can be upgrade by yourself as well, but it's a bit more difficult and may void your warranty. Dell will do it but probably charge quite a bit.

The GPU is soldered directly to the motherboard, so this would require to replace it... To be honest, the difference between the 1.5GB and 3GB version isn't that big and you won't notice it in the most common situations.

The screen can be upgrade as well (by Dell) but it's not cheap.