EwinRacing Flash Series Gaming Chairs
badbadbad

Are eGPUs the solution for portable VR?

So Oculus just announced it's Optimal Specs for running the rift today.

For the full Rift experience, we recommend the following system:

• NVIDIA GTX 970 / AMD 290 equivalent or greater
  • Intel i5-4590 equivalent or greater
  • 8GB+ RAM
  • Compatible HDMI 1.3 video output
  • 2x USB 3.0 ports
  • Windows 7 SP1 or newer

I'm not an expert with hardware, but given that we have a decent Quadcore CPU, would notebooks running GTX970 eGPUs be ready for VR? Or will the bandwidth bottleneck take a huge hit in performance and render an unacceptable VR experience?

Thoughts anyone? Especially to those with a rift developer kit.

So Oculus just announced it's Optimal Specs for running the rift today.

I'm not an expert with hardware, but given that we have a decent Quadcore CPU, would notebooks running GTX970 eGPUs be ready for VR? Or will the bandwidth bottleneck take a huge hit in performance and render an unacceptable VR experience?

Thoughts anyone? Especially to those with a rift developer kit.

Some good discussion over at https://forums.oculus.com/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=17349 which links to External GPU - V²C - ViDock - V²Collaboration :: Topics in Use Cases (1/1) . Though that user Paul foolishly chose to connect his 10Gbps-TB1 2012 15" Macbook GT650M to a expresscard 4Gbps-EC2 ViDock enclosure (using Sonnet Echo Expresscard adapter -> 10Gbps-TB1 to 4GBps-EC2). It cost him more and he got 2.5 less bandwidth than a native AKiTiO Thunder2 enclosure would have. REF: http://forum.techinferno.com/enclosures-adapters/7939-rip-off-alert-thunderbolt-vidock-bizonbox-crippled-tb-ec-4gbps-units.html

• Thumbs Up 1

eGPUs will works. But keep in mind that you need raw GPU power to achieve good VR performance. Maybe GTX 980 and the upcoming GTX 980Ti are better for VR and eGPUs.

• Thumbs Up 1