12" HP 2540P + GTX750Ti@2Gbps+c-EC1 (PE4L 2.1b) + Win7 [eddynator]

Thanks to Nando’s suggestion, I’m starting this new thread; it seems there is not a full 2540p writeup with a new card like GTX750TI. Nando: “Lots of power for low power consumption there. Awesome”

Personal story

After thinking about how my laptops were unable to be used to play, but had so nice core power, I started searching for external graphical card, at last I hit with Tech Inferno and Bplus (and some misinformation at NBR bleh). After reading a bit, I decided to buy a “PE4L-EC060A”, some “cheap gpu” (GTX750TI) and just try it out. Of course had to go through some hard walls in my way, since I’m not an expert IT professional neither programmer, I needed to learn some new things. I’ve never listened about dsdt override, or about the 32bit limitation Pci Bridge.

Elitebook 2540p specs (hp link)

My elitebook , to take in consideration:

CPU: Core i7

Memory: 6GB RAM (2+4) (memory bus runs at a màximum of 1066 MHz). (usable 5,8GB uh)

iGpu: Intel GMA HD

Power: 9 Cell Battery.

OS: Winows 7 enterprise 64. (Windows 8 professional discarded)

Weight: 1,950 KG ~ 4.3lb (with 6 cell battery it is lighter)

My thoughts:

It’s a nice laptop, if you want it just to work, or to use one or two linux or freeBSD virtual machines. It has a nice core power, and with 6GB ram, you can maintain some apps without memory troubles, if you use it to write emails, documents… Office work, the 9 cell batteries could last for more than nine hours. It isn’t very heavy. But (the big “but”) you can’t use it to play, it has no 3D power.

The way to the eGPU:

I bought on Wednesday 21 may the “PE4L-EC060A” board from Taiwan, and the GTX750TI SC, from Germany, I got in Friday the shipment from Taiwan, before the shipment from Germany, I got it on Monday. (Since I work in IT sector, I can have some spare parts to do some testing so I got an older card from my work and a normal PSU)