Help! Mac Mini (late 2014), Akitio Thunder 2, GTX970 OSX 10.11.6

Dizza

I'm having some issues getting my EGPU setup working.

My setup is as follows:

Mac mini (Late 2014)

2.6GHZ i5

8GB 1600MHz DDR3

Intel Iris 1536 mb

OSX 10.11.6 (15G31)

Akitio thunder2

Gigabyte GTX970

Dell DA2 220w power supply, modified to power card

What I have done so far

I have been trying to use automate-eGPU to install everything. It seems to work fine (but it does say no board id detected)

I have tried using a bunch of different drivers (have tried all of these for 10.11.6 http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/306535-nvidia-web-driver-updates-for-el-capitan-update-10242016/ ) 

System report lists graphics/Displays as: 

Intel Iris (as normal) 

Nvidia Chip Model

[Chipset model: Nvidia Chip Model

Type: GPU

Bus: PCIe

PCIe Land Width: x4

VRAM: 256mb

Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)

Device ID: 0x13c2

Revision ID: 0x00a1

Rom Revision: Preset 1.0.0]

I'm no expert on this process, but it seems most other people are having a much easier time with this process. 

Does anybody have any ideas as to why it isnt working?

Im very stuck. Any help would be much appreciated. 

Cheers!

Hi,

Have you tried setting Nvidia Web Driver to use Nvidia Web Driver only instead of OS X Default Graphics Driver in Nvidia Web Driver preferences? 

Make sure you have the right Web driver installed, Goalque’s script should automatically download, modify and install correct web driver for you. This is what it did for me.

Make sure you press "y" on every question the script asks.

Nvidia web drivers are turned on.

I have tried the drivers that the script installed, and attempted about a dozen alternatives as well. 

This is all on a fresh install of El Capitan as well. 

Just noticed it is now showing up in system report as:

'Display'

Type: GPU

Bus: PCIe

PCIe Lane Width: x4

Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)

Device ID: 0x13c2

Revision ID: 0x00a1

Kernel Extension Info: No Kext Loaded