Sign in to follow this  
Kuinox

Is eGPU worth it in my case?

Hi !

I'm new here, and i want to do an eGPU. I'm a student and a fervent gamer.

I have 900€ (selling old desktop PC) for this build + money of my pocket.

I was planning to buy a laptop with good processor for 600€, the aikitio thunder3 for 300€ and the GPU with my money.

So here my question:

1. Does all laptop with TB3 will run the eGPU ?

2. What are the difference with the TB3, TB2, and a desktop GPU ? I seen only the difference between TB2 and a desktop PC.

3. I've read some explanation on that, but it look realy messy, can someone explain or give me a link to me what i need to mod on the thunder3 boxes to make it work ?

Thanks !

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

• Similar Content

• By TechAce
      Hello, I need help trying to put my setup to work. I recently purchased an Akitio Thunder 2 with a GTX 1050 ti Superclocked to implement it as an eGPU for my system. I have a Macbook Pro 15” mid 2012. I’m not interested in using it with OS X (I’ve read that there is not much support by Apple for Nvidia cards Series 10). My main goal is to use it using Windows 8.1. I had some trouble with the initial connection as Windows recognized the external card but it gave me error code 12. I already got rid of the error 12 problem. The situation now is that I connected a second display through the HDMI port of the eGPU and activated it using the Nvidia Control Panel. After a restart I choose to boot windows 8.1 again but the two displays get hanged with black screens and I only see the cursor. Anybody has had this problem and was able to fix it?